In the beginning there was a rectangle

A stunning picture of some rectangles

A stunning picture of some rectangles

 

It all started on an incredibly dull Saturday morning.

My girlfriend was out of town (working for these lovely people), my friends were all busy, my monthly videogame budget was well and truly depleted, and there was nothing good on TV. The only viable option was to make a game. In 24 hours. With no budget, design or ideas. And I made something, a little puzzle platformer about friendship and collaboration called ‘Thomas Was Alone’.

It can be found here.

And that was that. I went back to my day job (concept designer at a British game developer), I tweeted it a bit, facebooked it to my incredibly patient and forgiving mates, and thought nothing of it.

And then everything went crazy.

People were playing my game. Some of my favorite websites, like Joystiq, Kotaku and Eurogamer were talking about it. Kongregate got behind it and featured it on their front page. It looked like my pizza fueled weekend of furious coding had resulted in something people wanted to play. There were issues (controls *cough*) but the goodwill it was receiving was scary.

That’s why this blog exists. I’m taking ‘Thomas Was Alone’ to the next level. Not sure what it’ll be, not sure what platform(s), but me and some very talented mates are going to expand this game into something special. And we plan to document the whole thing here. With generally good spelling.

Step 1 will be trailing through the comments and blog posts on the game, and working out what you guys like, and what you don’t. Feel free to comment here too. The goal is to make something open and honest, and share as much of the process of creation as we can with the community.

Thanks for listening, more soon 🙂

7 Responses to “In the beginning there was a rectangle”

  1. Izodius Says:

    Mike thanks for making such a great game! It’s games like these that show that video games are a delivery method for content and story telling that are not solely tied to huge marketing, graphics, audio, etc. I’d really love to see the game hit XBLIG, I’d spend some money to be able to play it on my couch for an afternoon or whatever!

  2. Whitaker Blackall Says:

    Like I’ve said before, I was super impressed by Thomas. Such a simple yet fun game. Can’t wait to see what else you add to it and how you expand it. I’m hoping to see it on the iPhone in the future . . .

    But just know that my offer is still on the table. I’d really love to provide music for the game. Again, my samples are all on my site, and I can send you more if you like. If you’re interested, let me know!

    Keep up the awesome work!

  3. krishna israney Says:

    Would have liked to finish the game if it wasnt for the twitchy controls.
    But everything apart that was a good experience.
    Im eager to see how it you expand on it 🙂

    Good luck

  4. Dr. Mike Reddy Says:

    Never too early to think about music!

Leave a Reply

